Just another manic Monday…

Every Monday this song goes through my head, love The Bangles. Now that I think about it, I need to make a Pandora station for them!

I had such a fantastical weekend, which make this Monday a little less painful than usual. Here are a couple of things that made my weekend so great:

1. Pretty rainbows – My boyfriend and I saw the prettiest rainbow on Saturday night while driving to Chipotle to fulfill my craving for the yummy goodness in a bowl. This time I asked for less rice so I could fit more of the veggies in the bowl. It was perfect!

Ok, back to the rainbow! It was so pretty and the first chance I got I took a picture. I did it safely, while stopped at a red light…

Image

The colors were so vivid, although you can’t tell from this photo. The sun was also setting, which made the background of the sky look beautiful. I love rainbows!!!!!

2. 5k races with old and new friends

I decided last week to sign up for the Blue Moon 5k in Ozona, FL. Ozona is a cute little town with adorable little shops and restaurants. When I say little, hold up your pinky finger, look at it…that’s how small this town is.

I opted to run the 5k while most of my friends ran the half marathon. It was perfect weather for a race, low 60’s at the start. I actually wore gloves to start the race because I am a big baby when it comes to the cold. My relationship with the cold is a love/hate one; I love running in it, but hate the before and after when I feel like I’m slowly turning into a freeze pop. The half marathon peeps went off first and a couple of minutes later the 5k’ers were off.

To be honest, I woke up Sunday morning at 5:40am and thought to myself, “I don’t want to f&^%ing race today”, but I’m glad I did it any way. I tried to start in the front of the pack because I don’t like getting stuck behind people, especially walkers. [mini rant: walkers and slower runners should be considerate and not start in the front at any race! it should be common sense, but i guess common sense isn’t so common…*steps off soapbox*] I had no goal for this race, I just wanted to run a decent race somewhere in the 23-minute range. As i started I saw a few people I knew, one of them being Dougie, who periodically comes out of his running hibernation and signs up for a race. I decided I wanted to catch up to him and say “hi”. It took me about 15 seconds to catch him and I looked down and saw 6:44 pace on my watch. My first thought was, “oh crap, this won’t end well”, but I then I thought, “to hell with it, let’s see what these legs got”. I caught Dougie and said hi and moved on to my next “target”.

There is this lady that I knew from a previous job who is super fast and I decided I was going to keep her in eye shot the entire race; that would be my goal for the day. It actually was very helpful to give me something to focus on other than the burning in my legs and lungs. I slowly started picking people off and was getting closer and closer and then something amazing happened. In mile 3 I passed her, albeit a short lived lead, only lasting about half a mile or so, I held on to it for as long as I could! It was an awesome feeling and I made sure to tell her “thanks” after the race for the push that she gave me that morning. We had a nice chat afterward and then I found my friends boyfriend, so that we could cheer her on in the half.

The end result of my 5k (actual distance 3.18 miles – a tad long, I may not have run the tangents perfectly)…

Image

Mile 1: 7:00, Mile 2: 7:11, Mile 3: 7:25 and .18: 7:15 – Gotta work on that 3rd mile.

I had a great time watching my friends run the half marathon, a lot of awesome races were had that day. I was especially proud of my friend Christina, who has been working her @$$ off to break the 1:50 mark. She didn’t just do that on Sunday, she crushed it with a 1:46:29 half annnd a second place AG win. I was so happy for my friend!

Here we are after the race enjoying our victories:

Image BM shirt award

Christina; 1:46:29, 2nd place AG and JM; 22:59, 1st place AG

GO US!!!!!

I also got to cheer on some new friends I’ve made since moving to Westchase. This is a great group of people and I have truly enjoyed getting to know them. This was my first race with them and I can’t wait to join the Landsharks for more races!

Image

I’m the one with the ear warmer and 2 jackets on…see I told you I hate being cold and I’m a big baby about it!

3. Banana Oatmeal Cupcakes with Chocolate Chips – holy goodness!

All I can say is holy goodness! MMMMMM-mmmmmm! These little gems have no flour, no sugar and no butter! How great is that? I found the recipe online, there’s not really a link to it, it’s a spam thing, but the instructions were in the description so here they are:

Banana Oatmeal Cupcakes:

3 mashed bananas (the riper the better)

1 cup of vanilla almond milk

2 eggs

1 tbsp of baking power

1 tsp of vanilla extract

3 cups of quick cooking oats

chocolate chips – you decide how much! I’m also going to try these with blueberries.

I wasn’t sure how long to cook them because there weren’t directions, so I just took from other recipes for muffins/cupcakes out there: 350* from 18-20 minutes.

They are delicious!

ImageImage

I got the boyfriend stamp of approval, so that means they are awesome!

4. Giant smiley face cups filled with coffee – this cup just makes me happy…

Image

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 121 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Follow sew cute and stuff on WordPress.com
Jen Wilson

Swim, bike, run, write.

Discom-BOB-ulated Running

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

Run DMT

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

sew cute and stuff

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

