Birthdays, colds and craftiness

This week is supposed to be perfect. It’s my birthday on Friday and I have a trip to NY planned with my sweet love, Dan! Of course, why oh why would my plans go off without a hitch? Oh wait…that’s right…they won’t.

I have a slight hitch thrown into my plans in what is otherwise going to be a great week. Here’s my Monday list of awesomeness mixed with a little bit of not so awesome.

1. Did I mention already that it’s my BIRTHDAY Friday?!?!? Well, in case you didn’t read it already in the subject line and the first paragraph of this post, I will tell you again! It’s my birthday Friday! As you can see, I get kinda pumped about my birthday. At first I was approaching my birthday as a negative thing. It’s my last year of my 20’s and I’d not been taking the idea of being 30 next year very well.

I think there is a big reason for this unease about my final year in my 20’s and have discussed it in depth with family and the lover boy. He is well aware of my past relationship, in fact, our relationship kind of spawned from the ending of that relationship. It’s a very sweet story and I can’t wait to tell it, but not today. Today, I will explain why I believe I am taking the final year of my 20’s so hard. I spent the better part of my 20’s in a miserable relationship that I had no business being in. It’s something I take full responsibility for as I allowed this person to make me believe I was not worth more than what he had to offer, which wasn’t much. He was a cold and uncaring person and it took me 6 years to say, “enough is enough”. That relationship ended about a year ago and I’ve had time to reflect back on it and have realized, I’m angry with myself. How could I have been ok with how this man treated me and how unsupportive he was?

I’m not going to go into any further detail about that because he is simply not worth expounding upon. Rather, what I have decided to do is enjoy my 29th year of living and make it a very memorable one! I have decided to start with a trip to NYC this Thursday. The BF will be up there already for a work related class he has to take, and I’ve decided that I am going to tag along and do my own thing while he is in class! Needless to say, I’m pumped!

Image

2. As I mentioned earlier, of course there is a hitch. I woke up Saturday morning and felt a little lethargic during my 12 mile run, but shook it off and figured it was something I ate the day before. As the day progressed, I started to feel worse and worse. By the evening I had a sore throat, but was still in denial and telling myself it was just allergies and sinuses. NOT! Sunday, I spent the day on the couch and am back at it Monday and have decided to stay home from work. LAMENESS! I am nursing this cold like it’s no body’s business with vitamins, OJ, water and cold meds. I will not feel like crap for NYC dammit!

3. Crafts!!!!! Of course I can’t go a weekend without making something crafty! I’m getting a late start this year on making Christmas ornaments, but here’s a sneak peek into what I am planning…

ImageImage

I used some wooden spools my mom found at a garage sale a while back. I had to de-thread about 25 spools, but if this is the result, it was well worth it!

4. Last but not least are the recipes I made this weekend. I try to prep our food for the week, so I don’t have to cook during the week. I tried a couple of recipes…

I love Olive Garden’s Pasta E Fagiloi soup and made my own from this recipe.

Olive-Garden-Pasta-E-Fagioli1Olive Garden’s Version

Pasta E Fagioli Soup My version..I kinda made the crock pot overflow. Oopsie!

I also made these vegan/vegetarian friendly tacos. I found the recipe on Pinterest and in linked me up with a blog called Cooking Classy. I hope I’ve not violated any of the rules for blogging – I’m trying to make sure I give credit where it’s due. 🙂

Quinoa Taco Filling

I made guacamole to go with these and added it to the tacos. It was delish and boyfriend approved!

I also made these Pumpkin Oat Balls from another recipe I found on Pinterest that led me to a blog post. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I did not use flax seed and instead of walnuts I crushed pecans and used those instead because it’s what I already had in the house. These are AMAZING and easy because they are no bake! I cannot say enough great things about these pumpkin balls of deliciousness and neither can the bf!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Balls

The great thing about all of these recipes is that I made enough to freeze and have for later!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 121 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Follow sew cute and stuff on WordPress.com
Jen Wilson

Swim, bike, run, write.

Discom-BOB-ulated Running

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

Run DMT

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

sew cute and stuff

Sewing, crafting, running and stuff...

